Throw Me The Statue is one of the bands I’m happy I discovered this year. I first heard them covering a couple of Liz Phair tracks at the Exile in {Imaginary} Girlville show over the summer and again at Bumbershoot. They play some darn fine indie pop/rock and “About To Walk” is one of my favorite songs of the year.

The luxury of playing in their hometown meant that they could be joined as needed by a horn section. More bands need a horn section, you guys. Srsly. They also decided to decorate Neumo’s with about 2 dozen huge paper snowflakes, and they dressed all in white. I approve.

One of the highlights was them covering the Huey Lewis & The News song “This Is It” in a languid way that was nearly unrecognizable but still totally awesome. For an encore, they covered a Built To Spill song. All in all, it was a great show, nicely raw-sounding. Pix of horn sections & paper snowflakes after the jump.

[Aside: What’s up with the resurgence of Huey Lewis lately? The TV show Chuck has used a few of their songs this season, and I feel like I’ve encountered them somewhere else too.]