Two albums dominated the month of March for me. Both of them mention ”pain”. I approve of this.

cftpa-etiquette

Etiquette by Casiotone for the Painfully Alone. Fantastic – it’s practically a whole album of lo-fi synthesizers and wry moaning about being miserable. I mean that as a compliment, as I’m a huge fan of both moaning and misery. Predictably, the part of me that likes The Magnetic Fields and The Mountain Goats likes Casiotone. I’m already hoping to download more in our next eMusic batch.

 

pains The Pains of Being Pure at Heart by The Pains of Being Pure at Heart. My husband downloaded it based on a glowing recommendation from Pitchfork Magazine. The part of me that likes cute indie pop like The Math and Physics Club likes this album. And to continue the theme, I’d have to say they’re just a little more miserable than The Math and Physics Club. And, with lyrics like “You’re my sister / and this love is f*cking right!” I think incest is officially the new dirty-bad-wrong-sexy-hot fetish.

