My “music” category is mostly about live shows, as opposed to whatever I might be listening to and enjoying. Maybe next year I’ll try to stick in a few posts like that.

Bands I discovered this year and am now BFF with:

  • Great Lake Swimmers [thanks Webbie!]
  • Sun Kil Moon [again, thanks Webbie!]
  • Head Like a Kite
  • Throw Me the Statue
  • The Ravonettes
  • Cut Copy
  • Frightened Rabbit
  • She & Him

Albums other than those by the above-mentioned bands that I listened to a lot this year:

  • Heretic Pride, The Mountain Goats [no surprise to anyone who knows me]
  • Stay Positive, The Hold Steady [ditto]
  • Distortion, The Magnetic Fields [uh, ditto]
  • In Our Bedroom After the War, Stars
  • Magic, Bruce Springsteen
  • A Mad and Faithful Telling, DeVotchKa

Disappointments:

  • Hard Candy, Madonna. After LOVING the previous year’s Confessions on a Dance Floor I barely played this at all.
  • Directions to See a Ghost, The Black Angels. Their debut was awesome, this follow-up just didn’t grab me as much.

What are your favorites from the past year?

