I managed to screw up royally earlier this year by accidentally scheduling a trip during the weekend the Mountain Goats were at Neumo’s. So it’s been longer than I wanted since I last saw them live. 

What can I say? They’re one of my favorite bands. The show was awesome and the crowd energy was fantastic. They played a great mix of old and new songs, and did a cover of Morrissey’s “Suedehead” that cracked me up. I was beyond thrilled to have 3 songs from Tallahassee.

I think the Showbox at the Market is our largest small venue in Seattle, holding probably 3,000-4,000 (crowd estimation is not one of my strengths though). There is nothing more life-affirming than having that many people shouting along to “No Children” at the top of their lungs. It makes me feel less anti-social for liking that song so goddamned much :-)

Some kind person posted the setlist. I’m pasting it below the cut.

main set:

1.have To explode
2.heretic pride
3.house that dripped blood
4.autoclave
5.pigs That Ran Straightaway Into The Water, Triumph Of
6.horseradish road /solo
7.1 John 4:16/solo
8.collapsing stars /solo
9.bring our curses home w/kaki king
10.mosquito repellent w/kaki king
11.suede head w/kaki king
12.supergenesis w/kaki king
13.new zion
14.wild sage
15.craters on the moon
16.going to Georgia
17.lovecraft in brooklyn

first encore:
18.so desperate
19.palmcorder yajna
20.this year

second encore:
21.no children (sing along)

