At this point, it’s possible that NecTar has me wrapped around its little finger. A glance at their calendar, a quick trip to MySpace to check out the tracks of whoever’s playing, and odds are good we’ll try to get there.

The other night we caught Ponytail opening for High Places. I double checked just now, both bands are from the East Coast, but it seemed like Ponytail had several friends in attendance. They were nothing I’d want to listen to in my house, but totally sold me live with their fast-driving music and upbeat wailing and howling. The lead singer was adorably unselfconscious. Then High Places surprised us with a distinctly Caribbean steel-drum sound in their electronic pop. The vocals were mixed deliberately low and it wasn’t easy to pay attention to the singing, which seemed pretty.

All in all another fun night!

