I’ve had my iPhone for nearly 4 weeks and I just love it. Two things have surprised me about it compared to my previous (Windows Mobile) phone – one positive thing and one negative thing.

On the plus side, the iPhone has no problem playing .wav files, but my Windows Mobile 5 phone didn’t seem to be able to do so. This, despite having a mobile version of Windows Media Player loaded in it. C’mon! The importance of .wav files to me is that our home phone service is provided by Vonage, which sends us our voicemails as .wav attachments to email (which I can check on my phone).

On the negative side, the iPhone doesn’t offer any UI for saving a phone number directly from anywhere outside the Phone application, to a contact. When you tap on a phone number in Safari or in an email, for example, it offers you a dialog to Call or Cancel. No “save”. My Windows Mobile phone could bring up a few options when a phone number was selected, including Save to Contact – and I could choose to create a new one or add the number to an existing one. Certainly, calling the number would be the #1 task. But I can’t believe that saving it wouldn’t be a close second, particularly a number you were sent in email. Yes, the workaround is to call the number, hang up, and then save it from the Recent Calls list.

