On my recent super-awesome trip to Pittsburgh, Webbie made a delicious main dish salad of “tabbouleh” with chicken – but using barley instead of bulgur and using basil instead of mint and parsley. I suspect that once you change two of the three ingredient types in a dish, it ceases to deserve to be called by its name, hence the scare quotes ;-)

Anyway, I liked it so much that I made it from memory as soon as I got home, before she even sent me the recipe. It came out pretty well, although now that I have the recipe I can see where a few things went off the rails. I goofed the dressing by using canola instead of olive oil. What possessed me to make such a weird mistake I don’t know. And I forgot the green onion. Next time I think I’ll try cooking the barley in chicken stock for added punch.

