We tend to enjoy composed salads, so I tried a recipe I found in Epicurious for Lentil Salad with Tomatoes and Dill. It got raves from the site’s users. I thought it was basically just OK, and that I have a better lentil salad recipe from Cook’s Illustrated. The salad ingredients are fine, I think, and it’s mostly the dressing that I didn’t find appealing. The Epicurious recipe uses a dressing with red wine vinegar, whereas Cook’s uses Dijon mustard in theirs.

Woo hoo, local strawberries are here! I got a couple of pints at a nearby farmstand the other day, and they were delicious. The difference between local and out-of-state big agribusiness strawberries is huge. Berries you get in the grocery store are like pebbles dunked in red food coloring and weak strawberry flavor. The local ones are tender, juicy, flavorful, … a total knock out. Yay!

