For a long book, I have relatively little to say about it. I might be the last person in America to read it. I mostly enjoyed it, especially the colorful family history that led to the birth of Cal, the narrator. Cal’s present-day story was surprisingly less engaging than just about everything else in the story. And I felt ever so slightly strange about reading an “Oprah” book.

Bottom line: recommended

What’s next: not sure. Despite having a shelf full of reading list, I managed to buy another one to add to the pile: The Long Exile: A Tale of Inuit Betrayal and Survival in the High Arctic. So maybe that, or maybe I need to try to cram Good Calories, Bad Calories before I see my brother-in-law (who gave it to me) and father-in-law (who became briefly obsessed with it) later this month.

