Last week I was glad to have several posts more or less queued up, because Tuesday night I came down with a low fever and a hideous hacking cough that beat the crap out of me all week long. Before getting sick, I did whip up some new stuff in the kitchen…

Steamed squash and scallops. I came across a recipe in a magazine in a doctor’s waiting room and decided to try it while theCultFigure was out of town. Good thing too, because it sucked. No need to dwell on this dish.

Minestrone. This just caught my eye when I was flipping through my Soups and Stews cookbook. It called for a parmesan cheese rind to flavor the soup, and I actually had a spent rind I was about to throw out, so the timing was perfect. This was exactly what I was in the mood for – a vegetable-heavy soup. Leeks, carrots, celery, potato, zucchini, spinach, tomatoes, cannellini beans, finished with pesto… what’s not to love? I added some whole wheat orzo to make it just a bit heartier. Awesome.

I notice I have really been on a soup kick, which feels great. Last year I hardly made much soup at all. Since Christmas time, I’ve made:

  • Butternut squash
  • Ham and yellow split pea
  • Roasted red pepper
  • Mushroom barley
  • Potato and garlic
  • Spring vegetable stew
  • Thai cucumber
  • Tortilla
  • and Minestrone

I’ve still got 2 cups of vegetable stock at least 8 cups of chicken stock in the freezer, so there will be more to come :-) Soup makes me happy.

