Thank you, Kate, for encouraging me last week to make the very delicious…

Tortilla soup with some of the leftover chile en adobo. I’d never made it before, though I’ve enjoyed it in restaurants. theCultFigure loves spicy Mexican style food, so it was a big hit with him. I accidentally scorched the first batch of toasted tortilla strips, but luckily had plenty on hand to try again. The soup was an appetizer for…

Healthy Fish tacos. Healthy meaning the fish wasn’t battered & fried, and it used fresh salsa instead of a creamy sauce. Despite these rather fundamental departures from the fish taco concept that I’m familiar with, it was surprisingly good. On a whim, I decided to stage a battle between catfish (which is what was called for) and rock cod, which looked good in the store that day. The catfish was mild and soft-textured, the rock cod was a little firmer. I might give slight edge to the rock cod, but both were tasty. 

Sometimes it seems like shredding chicken must be one of my hobbies. In addition to shredding chicken breast for the soup, I also recently made one of our favorite chicken salads, with a roasted red pepper dressing.

