And here’s the weekly update from the kitchen. Yum.

“Mexican style” skillet vermicelli. Yeah, I don’t know exactly what that means either, but it was a delicious way to use leftover spice-rubbed pork tenderloin. The recipe called for minced chile en adobo, which I’ve never used and almost couldn’t find. It seems to come in a larger quantity than any one recipe calls for, so I’ll probably try to find at least one more way to use it and then freeze the rest. Anyway, this recipe cooked toasted vermicelli, onion, tomatoes, and black beans in (homemade) chicken stock, topped with jack cheese and cilantro. Fabulous!

Lemon bars. We had friends over for dinner and I felt like making a dessert. Thumbing through a cookbook, I came across lemon bars, which seemed right for April/spring. Mmm: flour, sugar, eggs and butter. I upped the degree of difficulty slightly by making a half-batch (the recipe was going to make a 9×13 pan full, which seemed excessive). It worked out fine, although the crust was maybe a little too thick in the corners. 

