I shouldn’t have worried that this documentary couldn’t live up to the hype in my mind; it totally delivered.

99542_14_007The premise: 100 girls aged 7-18 attend a week-long rock music camp. They must divide up and form and name their band, write a song, learn an instrument, and perform for 700+ people at the end of the week.

The movie focuses on 4 campers’ stories, and gives insight into each one’s individual struggles. A sweet and bossy 7-year-old whose single-parent mom works in a retail clothing store, and who is becoming preoccupied with her appearance. A 17-year-old whose parents were addicted to drugs, and who lived alternately in various foster homes and with her grandmother. An 8-year old who is feeling the sting of rejection by a friend at school, who writes songs about her dog and whose divorced parents seem very supportive of her musical explorations. An insecure 15-year old who likes death metal and is in a band at home, but defers to and is silenced by the boys in the band, and who experiences the beginnings of self-acceptance at camp:

“I’ve been waiting for so long to finally admit to myself that I’m amazing, and I really am!”

sniff. What are you looking at, I just have something in my eye!

I saw the trailer at Feministe! and the official movie site is http://www.girlsrockmovie.com/, there is a list of screenings in the site. It’s still playing in Seattle until next weekend. For gosh sakes, GO.

