I finished books 6 and 7 in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series a few weeks ago, and have been putting off writing a review of them.

The problem is that I just don’t have much to say. They’re sweet and charming books; I always enjoy reading this series. The books are marvelously paced, the African settings are beautifully described, and the characters are very likeable.

Even though the characters’ lives change over time (e.g. getting married), it’s easy to pick up any one of the titles and dive in. On the one hand that’s a sign that the author has created an accessible world. On the other hand it’s weird in a way I can’t put my finger on. Like, I think I may have skipped books 4 and 5 altogether by mistake, but have no idea whether that’s true. Weird feeling. I haven’t read any of them in a few years, so that doesn’t help.

Between these two books, I preferred #6, In the Company of Cheerful Ladies because the way the mysteries were wrapped up in #7 seemed abrupt and less convincing than usual.

Bottom line is that I do recommend the series in general. With a cup of bush tea if you have it.

Next up: I’m currently reading A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier.

