Thanks to Santa Claus and my bookstore habit, and being -ahem- very behind on the books I got for my birthday, and… well, let’s just say I have amassed quite a backlog of reading material. In no particular order, here’s what I’m hoping to tackle.

Fiction:
  • Blue Shoes and Happiness, by Alexander McCall Smith. Book #7 in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. These books are sweet and charming. [amazon]
  • In the Company of Cheerful Ladies, by Alexander McCall Smith. Book #6 in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. Oops, I just noticed that I started #7 before #6. I have #7 in paperback and #6 in hardcover, so I made the erroneous assumption that the hardcover was the most recent. [amazon]
  • The End of Mr. Y, by Scarlett Thomas. I’m not even sure where I picked up this recommendation from anymore. [amazon]
  • The Complete Peanuts 1961-1962 and 1963-64, by Charles Schulz. Love love love Peanuts. [amazon].
  • Middlesex, by Jeffrey Eugenides. A loaner from my mother-in-law. [amazon]
  • The Queen of the Big Time, by Adriana Trigiani. Another loaner from MIL. [amazon]
  • Under the Tuscan Sun, by Frances Mayes. A third loaner from MIL. [amazon]
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Omnibus volume 1, by Joss Whedon and others. A collection of Buffy comics. [amazon]
  • The Last of the Just, by Andre Schwarz-Bart. Recommended by Kate. [amazon]
Non-fiction:
  • Hungry Planet: What the World Eats, by Peter Menzel. This looks amazing.[amazon]
  • Small Worlds, by Duncan Watts. An earlier book of his. [amazon]
  • What is Intelligence? Beyond the Flynn Effect, by James R. Flynn. [amazon]
  • A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier, by Ishmael Beah [amazon]
  • First, Break all the Rules: What the World’s Greatest Managers Do Differently, by Marcus Buckingham and Curt Coffman. Recommended by a friend, I’m hoping it will inspire me to reflect on my career direction [amazon]
  • Good Calories, Bad Calories, by Gary Taubes. Recommended by my brother-in-law. [amazon]
  • Sketching User Experiences: Getting the Design Right and the Right Design, by Bill Buxton. [amazon]
  • Terror in the Mind of God: the Global Rise of Religious Violence, by Mark Juergensmeyer. I started it about 18 months ago on vacation and need to get back to it. [amazon]
  • Swimming Across: A Memoir, by Andrew Grove. Recommended by Kate. [amazon]
  • The Elements of Cooking: Translating the Chef’s Craft for Every Kitchen, by Michael Ruhlman. [amazon]
  • Schulz and Peanuts: a biography, by David Michaelis. [amazon]
